Holiday Giveaway: And the winner is?

Happy New Year readers. Let’s start the 2012 posts off with a bang- congrats to Karen from California for winning the one room consult! Check out Karen’s dilemma… 

Dear Jessamy,

I am, as you say, lost in a sea of color chips! I stumbled upon your website and wish I had found it before I committed to several painting missteps. We are finally updating our living room (furniture, accessories) and I have been struggling with paint choices! The fireplace wall also has A LOT of brick, which totally confounds me. I have tried painting it white (too bright), dark grey (o.k), and the color it is now (just looks kinda strange – C2 Cafe Latte), and don’t like anything I have tried. Not only am I at my wits end, but my husband has basically banned me from entering our local Benjamin Moore store until I discover the paint color that I will be truly happy with. HELP!
I would love to get your professional and fresh approach to reinventing this room. I feel like the paint should be lighter–maybe a warm grey? I’m totally lost on how to handle all of the brick.

There are just 6 hours left in 2011 (we live in California), and I swore that I would send you this email before 2012! I would REALLY appreciate your help!

Thanks,
Karen

Dear Karen,

I imagined choosing a winner who’s room was screaming in need, so when your tasteful photos came rolling in, they threw me off in a good way (that’s why I picked you). When people come to your house, they probably say, “Looks great in here!” It’s a very cute place with a happy vibe, nice work. I love your furniture selections, etc. But you’re not sold on the living room…
Here are my thoughts: I don’t mind the current latte color on the walls/fireplace, reminds me of a toasty little coffee shop. I think the real issue is a disconnect between your latte scheme and the new gray sofa and rug. Perhaps you are missing the cohesion that creates the wow.

What if you shift the wall and side panel brick to a warm gray. Then paint the mid fireplace panel brick (and wood mantel) a nice bone white color (relates to the dining area but lighter). Let me demonstrate with the use of my beloved Photoshop.

A totally different look! Oh-la-la?

The next step would be to rework the accessories a bit. I love your framed prints! Though I think they would be better suited in another location in the room, hung in a gallery wall type fashion. I would beef up the scale on the new objects placed near the fireplace. My ideas here- mirror by Crate and Barrel, tan print by West Elm, green print by Crate and Barrel, plant pot by Ikea. Keep a touch of red (and a little green) going to ensure flow between the living and dining room.

 It was a pleasure reworking your room Karen! What do you think of the new look?

p.s. My husband also begins to sweat when I step foot in a Benjamin Moore store, poor men :)

Cheers,
Jessamy

3 thoughts on “Holiday Giveaway: And the winner is?

  1. Hi Jessamy,Wow! Thank you so much for selecting our living room to perform some color therapy! I really like the paint scheme that you have proposed–it really makes the room so cohesive with the new sofa, and blends the brick in with the rest of the walls. Yeah! The pops of color that you suggested are great–hopefully we will have a nice chair or two in there someday to complete the look! Thanks for pointing us in the right direction!

Leave a Reply

