Transported… by a pillow?

Take me there please…

Recently, I was helping a client color the walls of her new condo. A bright, new construction with a lovely tree view. She mentioned she was interested in a West Indies design style. I thought, that’s refreshing, no one has asked for that before? Can you picture the look?


We chatted about color options, and she gave me a general idea of her likes, but was very open to suggestions. We came up with a palette full of caramels, olives, browns, and this fabulous, dark shade of plum/brown (Benjamin Moore bison brown). I just had a feeling it would turn out well. Clients who let go of the fear (too dark, too light, too bold…) and allow the process to flow, get the best result hands down. It was a real joy!

After the appointment, I went in search of accents to help pull the new color scheme/look together. You sort of meander from one source to the next, and in the process I landed upon these pillows from Koko Company



I would like to put this one here…


And this one here…


I thought they loosely fit the design style. A little (okay, a lot) pricey at around $100 a piece… but sometimes a single, bold accessory can make the entire room. I’ve seen this happen with a simple vase of flowers for example.

I would go for it, would you?

(thank you Four Seasons Resort Nevis, Orient Express, Road To Mandalay, India Hicks/Domino, Koko Company (pillows), Urban Outfitters (Luc Sofa), and Room & Board (Selby Leather Sofa) for the photos)

2 thoughts on “Transported… by a pillow?

Leave a Reply

