For the Love of Mixing Paint.

To my fellow creative friends out there,

Does the sight of this painter’s palette get your blood flowing?

This is exactly where my love for paint mixing began.

College painting courses- I quickly chalked up the in-between paint color tubes to focus on the primaries (red, yellow, blue) + white. With these 4 tubes at hand, you can mix virtually any shade under the sun, even black.
I did this for 2 reasons. 1. Artist paint is pricey and I never had more than $5 in my college account, ha. 2. For the love of the game!
You know which colors were by far the most difficult to mix? The neutrals- beige, shades of gray, taupe, and off-white. I learned this quickly in trying to replicate a painting by artist Wayne Thiebaud (one of my favorites). I got pretty close but it took a few attempts and much effort.

What I didn’t realize at the time, was how relevant this experience in mixing, creating neutrals, and gaining perspective on the wild world of undertones would be in my future. It’s funny how things just happen…

There is definitely an angle from art school that I can’t help but bring, sometimes literally :), to your table.

Time stood still back in college when I realized (luckily) the direction in which I should head. Art/design/painting just ignited something.
And my how that is still true!
Just wanted to share, hope you have also loved your chosen path.
Leave a Reply

