Talk the talk + walk the walk.

An abstract painting?


Not quite… Oh heavens, it’s a wall in our kitchen. See? I do test paint colors on the walls (to all the dear clients I beg :)

You would think I might proceed in a pretty, organized fashion- but the whole family chimed in and this is what we came up with. A gray mess? Well, it suits it’s purpose.

Here’s the scoop… We live in an open concept, ranch style home. My favorite features of the house include the nice big windows (sunny and bright), open feel, and high ceilings. My least favorite? That darn orange oak wood…sigh. I would like to paint it white in the future, but for now… it’s just orange.

In the meantime, I’m over the current beige we painted the walls 6 years ago and would like to refresh the look, starting with a new shade leaning towards gray. Anything with even a lick of blue in it just “embellishes” the beauty (lol) of the wood. So cold gray is out and taupe is in (a good compromise).

I think we have a winner- Benjamin Moore’s Brandon Beige. I liked it immediately, which I’ve learned is a good sign. If you’ve ever talked yourself into a shade, it never seems to end in contentment (been there).


As I mentioned previously- the couch I would like to purchase (Room & Board)…


Rug options- you could search forever (and I have)! Too many good ones (West Elm, Dwell Studio)…

A print or 2 from Etsy (behappynow)- I will frame them with white matting and simple metal frames…


A mirror…
This ottoman (since I can’t seem to get it out of my system)…
Maybe a dark accent wall near the fireplace (something like this from Carol Reed Design)…


Where is the color you ask? We will add a few bright pops for sure… maybe chartreuse.

I was feeling inspired by this house tour on House*Tweaking– love this place…


When the new look starts coming together for real- you will be the first to peak… I’m excited and ready to get moving!

If you need assistance pulling ideas together for a room update, contact me anytime ( I live for this stuff).

Leave a Reply

