shiny, sparkly, pearl… The Heavenesque Room.

I’ve had this look on my mind lately…

It began this summer, after a trip to the Wisconsin Breast Cancer Showhouse– a fund raising event in which select designers remodel and decorate individual rooms within the home (this year a beautiful, historic house on Lake Michigan’s shore).

There was 1 room that just got to me… It was the living room, designed by 2 of Boston Store Furniture Gallery’s (talented) designers. The walls were painted a beautiful gray with a pearl finish. White trim, shiny, mirrored tables… It was just radiating beauty- and I haven’t forgot about it… Wish I had a photo!

In addition, I am currently helping a client color her new home. We are adding a pearl finish to a few rooms as well as a touch of sparkly wallpaper. How fun is that??

So I have shiny, pearl, taupe, gray, violet, sparkly, heavenesque rooms on my mind and I’m trying to put this look into words for you… but I’m struggling.

So, I visit Anthropologie’s website to add some images to the collage (see below), and on their homepage I find the perfect explanation!


I hate to steal their line, but “ethereal elegance” just about says it all. It is super feminine and soft, I don’t believe I could get away with the look in my own home, but for now I’m just admiring!

Here’s a taste…


Wish to add a touch? I’ve got a few ideas for you…



I never did get the sugar plum fairy completely out of my system :) …

(thank you Julian & Ilaria t/a Paintiques, designevolutionblog.com, and Decor Pad for the photos)
(thank you (top row) Jonathan Adler, West Elm, Etsy & (bottom row) Anthropologie, West Elm, Kohls, World Market, for the products)
(colors by Benjamin Moore)

2 thoughts on “shiny, sparkly, pearl… The Heavenesque Room.

Leave a Reply

