What color should I paint my ceilings?

That’s a good question! One I bet many are pondering this very moment :) I wish I could give you a formula, or a paint-by-number system, but that would be too easy…

It took me a while to come around on this issue. I do like a white ceiling. Why you ask? Well, they’re versatile- if you change your wall color frequently (don’t get my husband started) they always blend. White ceilings are safe- they will not leave you unsure of your color choice (in most cases). Also, the white adds a bright/airy element to the room.

Then I saw that darn dining room… and my closed mind… o p e n e d. Greige walls, dark gray/violet ceiling, large drum pendant in the middle of the room- beautiful, sophisticated, called for an immediate dinner party.

So I’ve come to a new conclusion- ceiling color can only be determined individually. Personally, I like a balance- mostly white or neutral, with one room or so (if it’s the right room) featuring a dramatic ceiling. Businesses and restaurants are another story.

I LOVE bold ceilings in a symmetrical room with flat ceilings, especially dining or powder rooms. Crown molding and a big impact pendant or chandelier finish the look wonderfully. If the ceiling is bold, go easy on the wall color- the contrast really adds something.

As I was thinking about this post, one of my best friends came to mind, you know, Starbucks? I have long admired the beauty of their stores… the offbeat paint colors, the lighting, the music, the chai … But wait a minute… if their ceilings were painted white? I think we would loose a bit of the coziness? Aha! There’s a time and a place.

Here are some photos to get you thinking…


It’s tempting isn’t it! If you need help with a ceiling color plan, contact me for an in-home or online consultation. In the meantime, here’s a helpful instructional on ceiling paint application (the not so glamorous part :). http://www.diynetwork.com/how-to/how-to-paint-a-ceiling-like-a-pro/index.html

(thank you Manolohome.com, Domino, Design Your Revolution, Picassaweb(Starbucks), and Homerenovations.about.com for the photos).

3 thoughts on “What color should I paint my ceilings?

  1. Hi Annie,I completely agree, pure fun!As you can see, I'm a huge fan of your blog! It's delightful, relatable, funny… Love the living room stories- I've had living room block for 5 years, still working through it :)Great to hear from you,Jessamy

Leave a Reply

