Fear No Art.

Sunday morning, while out enjoying banana pancakes (http://www.originalpancakehouse.com/) with my husband and little guy, I noticed a couple, mostly because the man was wearing a Fear No Art shirt. It caught my eye, then started a long train of thought (please find your reading glasses- she’s feeling wordy today).

Beside wanting to ask him if he’s an artist, writer, actor, etc… I was interested and slightly hushed by the phrase. Does this sort of sum up our relationship with art? We are a little uncomfortable?

I think there are reasons… The first thing that comes to mind is the comment, I don’t get art? It’s like my Dad use to say when attempting to teach me chemistry, THERE’S NOTHING TO GET! Well, the chemistry was a lost cause but I do think the phrase is relevant.

As an art student back in the day :), I would often create a piece, then come up with the story (this is my confession). People always wanted a story… what profound meaning does this have? Oh, I just liked the colors, wasn’t going to cut it in class critique, ha ha.

Maybe we regard art too seriously. Don’t get me wrong, I have much love for art history. The tales behind the master’s paintings are deliciously intriguing. Sometimes though, you just want the walls to look darn good and match your couch!

Which leads me to the real story… Let’s chat about ideas for wall art since so many of us are STUMPED when it comes to finding, purchasing, creating, and loving artwork. Paint is the first step, but what you hang on the walls makes your space come alive.

Question- how many of us have a robust art budget? Not many! So let’s discuss affordable options.

#1 Framed Wallpaper- The wrath of the 80’s paper still haunting your home? No paste required! There are some amazing, contemporary patterns available, and the best part is you can go large scale for major impact. Poster frames are an option for extreme affordability.

#2 Fabric- A few yards of your favorite fabric and you have instant art. Go for large scale patterns. Many options- you can stretch fabric over a board or a painter’s canvas- secure with a staple gun, hang the fabric on a rod, or even frame it.


#3 Z Galleriehttp://www.zgallerie.com/. I’m always impressed with Z Gallerie’s selection of art. There’s enough to choose from, a nice variety of styles, and doable pricing. Worth a look!

#4 Etsyhttp://www.etsy.com/. Etsy– what a wonderful resource for original artwork. I like to browse the prints, which admittedly takes time to sort through. Well worth the effort! Some amazing things and very affordable. I’ve been impressed by all my purchases. Don’t you love this fresh version of the family tree?

#5 Framed paper- Or even greeting cards. I have this all over my home! Scrapbook paper has come a long way- some really beautiful sheets. Choose a series of related colors & patterns, frame, and you’ll be amazed at how good it looks! Wrapping paper works too- this local shop has an amazing selection (and an online store) http://www.broadwaypaper.com/.

So there you have 5 ways to embellish your walls! Don’t be shy, choose what you love, go LARGE, and don’t hang your pieces too high.

Have fun and let me know how it turns out.

(thank you Apartment Therapy, Apartment Therapy, Interior Decorating- Furniture Designs, Brown Design inc., Z Gallerie, and Etsy (various artists(prints)) for the photos).

Leave a Reply

